BALANCE

The moment is finally here! The last payment towards my credit card debt has been sent and the balance is right where I like it: $0.00! That’s a far cry from the original $1650.00 that I owed, let me tell you.

I don’t even know what to say. This has been a tremendous experience. I’ve learned about budgeting, focus, determination, sacrifice, and responsibility during this project. I’ve learned a lot about myself, about the things that really matter to me, and the best ways to go about decluttering little areas of my life that needed to be downsized and restructured. I also learned how to handle the frustration that comes with tackling a project such as this, when the finish line seems so far away.

I knew going into this project that it wasn’t going to be easy. I was taking on a big hurdle in a very short amount of time with no safety net to speak of.

It’s surreal… wanting something so badly, having to slowly and painfully work towards attaining it, and then crossing that finish line in one quick step. I feel so many things today–accomplished, relieved, and content. Now I can focus all of my energy on other financial goals: emergency savings, investing opportunities, owning a home, and a retirement fund further down the road. More importantly, I can finally start putting into practice what I’ve learned in the past six months. I cannot wait to start.

